CHECK WEBSTIE FOR SPECIFIC TIMES

Experience the power of spoken stories, told live in the Wasmer Art Gallery at the Arts Complex. Stories surrounded by art! Join a performance by a professional storyteller or tell your story at the open mic community events. Personal stories, historical stories, folk tales, and more. Captivating and entertaining. FREE and Open to the Public. Sponsored by the Seidler Foundation and the Department of Language and Literature.

Fall 2023

Tue Sep 12      5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Failure”

Tue Sep 19      6 – 7:30pm Josh Goforth – Folk Music and Stories of Appalachia

Wed Sep 20    6 – 7:30pm Josh Goforth – Stories and Songs of Appalachia

Tue Oct 17      6 – 7:30pm Robin Schulte – Jack and the Levitator

Wed Oct 18    6 – 7:30pm Robin Schulte – Healing with Stories

Tue Oct 31      5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Spooked”

Tue Nov 14      5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Food”

Wed Nov 15    6 – 7:30pm Joel Ying – What the Folk Are Saying

Spring 2024

Tue Jan 30      6 – 7:30pm  Tim Tingle – Choctaw Tales: Crossing the River of Life

Wed Jan 31      6 – 7:30pm Tim Tingle – Trail of Tears : Learning to Swim

Tue Feb 13      5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Love”

Tue Mar 26      6 – 7:30pm Sheila Arnold – African American Folk Tales and Songs

Tue Mar 27      6 – 7:30pm Sheila Arnold – Stories of the Underground Railroad

Tue Apr 2        5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Unbelievable”

Wed Apr 3      6 – 7:30pm  Joel Ying – Myths & Legends: It’s all Greek to me

Tue Apr 23       5 – 7pm Open Mic Storytelling – Theme: “Inspired”